Mono County Local Agency Formation Commission

PO Box 347 Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 760.924.1800, fax 924.1801 <u>commdev@mono.ca.gov</u> PO Box 8 Bridgeport, CA 93517 760.932.5420, fax 932.5431 https://monocounty.ca.gov/lafco

April 22, 2022

To: All Independent Special Districts in Mono County

Re: Nominations for two Special District Members to serve on LAFCO

The Mono County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) invites nominations from your district for two Special District positions on LAFCO. The terms would last for four years and expire **May 4**, **2026**¹.

LAFCO is a seven-member commission and meets as needed on the first Wednesday of the month. LAFCO's purpose includes discouraging urban sprawl, preserving open space and prime agricultural lands, efficiently providing government services, and encouraging the orderly formation and development of local agencies based upon local conditions and circumstances.

In accordance with the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000, nominations should be submitted in writing **via electronic mail** to the Executive Officer at <u>glefrancois@mono.ca.gov</u> (per Government Code (GC) Section 56332 (f)(3)(4)), Mono County LAFCO staff at <u>kkarl@mono.ca.gov</u>, and the LAFCO Secretary at <u>hwillson@mono.ca.gov</u>.

The nominations and election process for Special District Members will be conducted by mail. Each Special District may submit nominations in writing (see attached nomination form). Candidates for this position must be elected or appointed by their own Special District officers residing within the county. Nominations must be received at the LAFCO offices by **Monday**, **May 23**, **2022**. Nominations received after that date will not be considered. If only one candidate is nominated for a vacant seat, that candidate shall be deemed appointed as permitted by GC Section 56332 (c)(1)(2).

If more than two Alternate Special District Members have been nominated, the Executive Officer will prepare a ballot and mail one copy to each Special District, along with voting instructions. The candidate receiving the highest number of votes will be appointed as the Alternate Special District member at a meeting anticipated in June 2022.

Your consideration of potential candidates is appreciated. If you have any questions, please call: Heidi Willson, LAFCO Secretary at <u>hwillson@mono.ca.gov</u> 760-924-1804.

Sincerely,

Gerry LeFrancois

LAFCO Executive Officer

¹ Per the CKH, Section 56334 "The expiration date of the term of office of each member shall be the first Monday in May in the year in which the term of the member expires, unless procedures adopted by the commission specify an alternate date to apply uniformly to all members."

Planning / Building / Code Compliance / Environmental / Collaborative Planning Team (CPT) Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) / Local Transportation Commission (LTC) / Regional Planning Advisory Committees (RPACs)

5b 1a._2a_SD_Member_Nomination_Letter 04.05.22

Final Audit Report

2022-04-22

Created:	2022-04-22
By:	Kelly Karl (kkarl@mono.ca.gov)
Status:	Signed
Transaction ID:	CBJCHBCAABAAIn2tplhiYsNK_ILuWy5IIhjy0qCudkLY

"5b 1a._2a_SD_Member_Nomination_Letter 04.05.22" History

- Document created by Kelly Karl (kkarl@mono.ca.gov) 2022-04-22 - 9:05:52 PM GMT- IP address: 162.252.88.212
- Document emailed to Gerry LeFrancois (glefrancois@mono.ca.gov) for signature 2022-04-22 9:06:48 PM GMT
- Email viewed by Gerry LeFrancois (glefrancois@mono.ca.gov) 2022-04-22 - 9:08:30 PM GMT- IP address: 162.252.88.209
- Document e-signed by Gerry LeFrancois (glefrancois@mono.ca.gov) Signature Date: 2022-04-22 - 9:08:44 PM GMT - Time Source: server- IP address: 162.252.88.209
- Agreement completed. 2022-04-22 - 9:08:44 PM GMT

